Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Two noob questions, one transport and one home defense

Two noob questions, one transport and one home defense

1) once I get my transport papers to a club, can I just throw my handgun in my backpack(in a locked case and trigger locked) and ride my motorcycle there? I'm pretty sure the answer is yes from what I've read on that rcmp flyer I got at the course. I just dont know if I stopped for gas and walked into the gas station to pay, could I be charged with concealed carry or something stupid like that.

2) if someone breaks into my house and is threatening my life can I use a firearm (restricted or not) for self defence? or am I suppose to throw my TV at them? I don't mean, if the guy is running away down the street and I shoot him in the back, that's not self defense.

CGN Ultra frequent flyer Stevebot-7's Avatar
    Well, the short answer is yes. I'm not a lawyer, but I did once stay at a Holiday Inn. The long answer is that the Canadian Legal system has very little to do with legal or illegal and everything to do with what you can convince other people of.

You are legally allowed to use any reasonable force to defend yourself, the problem is that you will be dragged over the coals trying to justify that it was reasonable to use a gun.
    Death comes by subtle means; the satisfaction of routine.
    Lifetime member of CSSA and NFA.