Thread: DA 556 Range Report

DA 556 Range Report

First off I want to thank the gang at Canada Ammo for their great customer service. When I ordered the rifle I was out of town but wanted to get in on the deal they were offering so they delayed shipment until I got back home. Box of goodies was at my door 2 days after I got back from vacation.

This is my first AR so I'm no expert but I've learned a lot about the platform in the last couple months and I love the design. Dominion Arms (Norinco) has done a pretty good job considering the price point. Although I make a few criticisms of the rifle in this report , don't get me wrong, I quite like it and think it's a good value for someone wanting to get a cheap AR. From most of the reports I've heard these Chinese rifles run well and in my experience so far I've found the same.

On my first trip out to the range I fired 140 rounds of mostly AE223J and some Norinco out of 3 different brands of Mags and had no function problems. The front sight on this rifle was canted so far to the right that even with moving the rear sight as far as it would go to the right the shots were still hitting 6" left of point of aim at 25 yards. I put a 24x scope on it to see how well it would group and it was grouping about 3" at 100 yds.
    I sent Canada ammo an email and they sent me a prepaid shipping label and told me to send the rifle back and they would replace the upper. I had the new upper back to my door 4 days after mailing mine in. They replaced the barreled upper and returned my previous lower and BCG. On this one the front sight was straight enough to get it on target.