Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Holsters?

Holsters?

So I'm a noob. Hi!

I've been to a range 5-6 times now.

I've enjoyed the experience each and every time.

I'm fascinated with the skill (in my case - lack of skill) of hitting the bull's-eye, and feel challenged by the sport of it.
    In other words, way fun!

But in my trips to a range, I don't really recall anyone wearing a holster - and carrying their pistol/revolver in that way.
    Firearms were left on the table between shooting, as was ammunition.

Was I just blind to it, having too much fun to notice? Or do people walk around wearing holsters?

Generally speaking, carrying with a holster is prohibited on any range/club in Canada. I say generally because there are some exceptions, such as for law enforcement people, as well as people in the security field of work (read: licensed). Other exception that I know is also during IPSC tournaments, where it's actually required to have a holster.

Every firearm has to be left on the table when not firing (with barrel pointing down range of course). If it's not in your hands while shooting, it's laying on the table. Only other possibility is: in it's carrying case...!

CGN Ultra frequent flyer trebor2880's Avatar
    Depends on the type of shooting you're doing.

Super Moderator
    Depends on the shooting discipline, and on the club.
    IMHO, a holster is the safest, most secure place for a handgun while on the range.

CGN Ultra frequent flyer Onagoth's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by multicam333 View Post
    Generally speaking, carrying with a holster is prohibited on any range/club in Canada. I say generally because there are some exceptions, such as for law enforcement people, as well as people in the security field of work (read: licensed). Other exception that I know is also during IPSC tournaments, where it's actually required to have a holster.