Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to guns

New to guns

Hello Guys,

Great forum with lots of good info. I am new to guns and like to do lots of research before making a decision. Recently completed my PAL course and sent off my paperwork so now have lots of waiting to to decide on my first purchase. I am manly looking for a .22LR riffle for varmit control, and also so fun shooting and possible target shooting. I have a budget of around $300 for a riffle, and another $200 for accessories (locks, case, cleaning kit, scope?, etc)

What would you guys recommend for riffle? I at the moment I am thinking either a Savage MK2 or Ruger 10/22. Are there other guns you would consider under the $300 mark? I think the Savage would be a good idea so I could focus more on the shot vs just rapidly shooting rounds off with the ruger. What is everyone thoughts? I want to make myself the best possible markman I can.

Also what is everyone thoughts on buying new vs used? typically when I think buying used I think of buying someones problems, or are these guns pretty trouble free? Not having any experience with repairing gun, I am thinking more new.

I am located between Sarnia, London and Chatham. I know there are lots of gun shops in the area. Any recommendations or places to stay away from? Would you recommend buying from Canadian Tire (I do get a 25% discount) or stay with a knowledge of a true gun shop?

What accessories do you recommend or any stay away from?

CGN Regular
    I would recommend the Savage mkII, I have 2 and love them. I have bought guns new as well as used without problems. If you are unsure about a used gun your looking at then don't be afraid to ask questions to the seller about it. I also don't see a problem buying from Canadian Tire if they have what you want for a decent price, that being said, I've only bought from local shops.

Hello!

CGN Ultra frequent flyer thehook92a1's Avatar
    Hello and to CGN enjoy the site

Hello & welcome.

BANNED