Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: 22LR shortage ?

Question 22LR shortage ?

I am new to the sport and have noticed that 22lr are hard to find on line everywhere seems to have them back ordered or just "no stock" next to the price. I have a LGS that always seems to have them at a good price, so should i stock up on them while i can ?

Also why do they seem to be harder to find them anything else ?

And what is a good price for them when i find them ?

I bought 2 x 100 cci mini mag copper plated 40 grain target rounds for $18 plus tax, is that good or bad ?

CGN Ultra frequent flyer lyman54's Avatar
    Shortage has been going on for a couple of years now. Started in the US and now here. It's mainly because of guys hoarding whatever ammo they see. that's what happened in the States because of Obama. Don't think you overpaid, CCI is always more expensive.
    If guns cause crime, mine must be defective

CGN Ultra frequent flyer ipscgraz's Avatar
    On a reasonably direct route with the wipers on.
    I don't normally buy 22LR in lots of less than 500, and usually 1000 or more if I see a good price. Buying at $9.00 a hundred isn't too bad for CCI. Basically due to supply/demand, buy it when you see it.
    A demand for further gun laws is an admission that the hundreds of gun laws already on the books, and the Firearms Act itself, is simply to placate the uninformed.

“The more corrupt the state, the more numerous the laws." Tacitus

Thank you guys, I will go back tomorrow and buy more then and horde them if thats the case, like I said he always seems to have them but I have to have at least 500 for a club qualification that i am trying to join and would hate to run out and that would be the time he does not have them.

Why is there an ammo shortage ? and is it only 22's ?