Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Questions about my new Norinco M14

Exclamation Questions about my new Norinco M14

Hi,

I'm new to CGN and I have a few questions about my new M14. I've run into a problem and it's my first rifle. I'm hoping someone can help.

First to start, I've never fired this rifle and purchased it after I finally getting approval from my wife. I was told that it's a good starting rifle that is practical and hardy. I've done my research and everyone seems to have great things to say about it. My experience is only beginning so I'm hopeful it lives up to its reputation.

That being said, I'm a TOTAL NOOB and I read as much as I can but it's hard to digest all the information and then apply it successfully.

Anyway, I've had the rifle for two weeks now. I've cleaned the grease off of it. Cleaned the bore, chamber and bolt assembly(as best I could without taking it apart). I also purchased a couple of snap caps at the advice of one online reviewer.

The problem: I was acquainting myself with the rifle and cycling the snap caps through the rifle by pulling back on the operating rod handle and I noticed that the snap caps weren't ejecting smoothly. I thought maybe I had too much oil in the chamber so I continued few more times to try and understand the problem. That's when then the bolt somehow twisted and jammed. Is this normal and something to be expected?