Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Epps and my dissapointment

Epps and my dissapointment

Hi, this is a duplicate of a thread I started. It was suggested that I post it here to ensure others do not trip into the same mistake I made.

I am very new to hunting but have been skeet shooting previously in the UK and have a Beretta 687 O/O already. As part of my ongoing integration into life in Canada I decided to take up hunting as a sport and hobby. I took all of the courses and started on the expensive business of getting the equipment required, I did a lot of reading and homework on the guns I would need and toured around Cabella's and Bass Pro locally to find out what kind of gun I would need. I decided to purchase a shot gun first for turkey and wild bird and had settled on a Benelli supernova. I did a bit of research and found that Epps had a good deal on a supernova so decided to take the 1.5 hour drive to the store to review the gun and make the purchase. Being a real novice I was given some very good advice by the sales person (Chris) about the supernova (28" barrel) and the kind of shooting I would be doing so was moved from the supernova (a $699 deal) to a new Beretta A300 Outlander ($914 deal). I still think the deal in terms of cost for a new A300 is pretty good, but that is where things go awry!

I made the purchase in good faith, the gun was assembled for me and dis-assembled by the sales person. I did not really inspect the gun which is a real mistake on my part. I did check the first 2 guns I was shown which was the Benelli and a new Browning, but I did not check the Beretta!

A couple of hindsite notes I will take away from this.

1. The Benelli and the Browning were both fully packaged with the suppliers packing, the Beretta was just in a box.
    2. I should have checked the firearm thoroughly before I paid for it.
    3. I was too eager to make the purchase.