Thread: Skeet/Trap shooting

Skeet/Trap shooting

Hi folks, although not that new to shooting sports, I am new to the world of skeet and trap. What is the best type of shotgun for either. I currently own a Mossberg 500 now, but is more of a tactical style with an 18.5" barrel. Are OU, SxS type shotguns better suited for this sport? Thanks in advance for the information.

Cheers
    Ray
    I may not be as good as I once was...but I'm as good once as I ever was

Don't practise until you get it right...practise until you can't get it wrong

I would recommend that you continue to keep trying the sport before making a large purchase. Usually the gun clubs have a good group of guys in this shooting discipline. Ask to see if you can shoot a few rounds with there guns to get a feel for what you like. But I would suggest a over and under gun. Remember stock fitting is key and then other factors play too such as barrel length, sights ect. Just don't jump into something too quickly IMO

Also you have some of Canada's best skeet shooters that live in your area. I'm sure you will find the right advice at your local club

Also make sure that if you are going to make a large investment into a trap/skeet gun you figure out if you want sub gauges too (20,28,410) either a four barrel set or tubes depending on how serious you want to get with it all. It is very addictive
    Last edited by zelly; 11-07-2015 at 10:04 PM.
    Practice makes you perfect, it also makes you broke!

Quote Originally Posted by zelly View Post
    I would recommend that you continue to keep trying the sport before making a large purchase. Usually the gun clubs have a good group of guys in this shooting discipline. Ask to see if you can shoot a few rounds with there guns to get a feel for what you like. But I would suggest a over and under gun. Remember stock fitting is key and then other factors play too such as barrel length. Just don't jump into something too quickly IMO