Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: First Rifle

CGN Regular

First Rifle

After over 3 years of lurking here and learning everything I could about firearms and shooting sports in general, I finally applied for my PAL and I'm expecting it to show up in the next month or so. Since I'm getting my licence, I think it's also a good idea to think about my first rifle.

My criteria are as follows:
    • Won't bankrupt me (I'm currently a university student)
    • Fun
    • Relatively discreet to store (I live in a house with other students that aren't the biggest fans of firearms)

I was thinking of a Ruger 10/22 Takedown or something similar. I was also considering an SKS, but I really don't know which would be better.

CGN Ultra frequent flyer
    Three firearms which I would recommend are the following

1. 10/22 is a pretty good choice for plinking and are relatively cheap.
    2. Mosin Nagant 91/30 (or save up a little more and get a M38), cheap ammo (.25 cents a round) and since it is a bolt action you don't shoot as much ammo. They are also fairly accurate guns which you can work on improving your accuracy with.
    3. SKS, cheap ammo (16 cents a round) however since it is a semi-auto you will likely go through ammo quicker than a Mosin Nagant and it is not nearly as accurate.

A thing to consider if your trying to keep your rifles out of sight is that you likely won't want to use corrosive ammo as it involves completely stripping the rifles. The Mosin Nagant you can get away with just putting a kettle of boiling water down the bore (through a funnel followed by a quick dry by a pull through) but the SKS you can't really do that (needs to be completely stripped and cleaned with boiling water). This means if your using a SKS you will want non-corrosive ammo which increases your cost significantly for shooting.

CGN Regular
    I also looked at the mosin, but I'm worried the recoil will be a bit much for a new shooter.

CGN Ultra frequent flyer