Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: re: tradex customer review 2.1.0

CGN Ultra frequent flyer rally guy's Avatar

re: tradex customer review 2.1.0

Last go at this, this will be short and sweet!

Had problem, they made it right at the end and offered 200$ of a new zastava. Got great service , polite and fast response, quick shipping and a easy transaction.

I ordered a Zastava m98 (m70) in 375h&h. Full disclosure I am more a tactical and milsurp guy so take this for what it's worth.

I was hoping for new rifle but since this was my first zastava, I was expecting it to be well a bit ruff. That's what the Zastava factory packaging was, box in box ship inside a box, and rifle looseish in a plastic bag with the bolt separate, no foam. That is wear the ruff end! I wasn't expecting this rifle to be this nice! The wood is very nice with a almost tiger strip quality to it. The checkering is nice but not very 3 dimensional??? It seem flat and low traction but I like it. Like I said I am no expert on hunting guns. The recoil pad is nice but stiff. The finish on the wood is real nice and even but still leave some pores on the wood. The finish seem to be some kind of oil finish, not a varnish that could peel and flake or fade. The bluing is absolutely flawless! And I don't see any machining marks as one would expect from a east European country firearm. From what I see this firearm is almost perfect for what it is, it is a wonderful Mauser derivatives firearm the only 2 things I could point out is the hard recoil pad, that is really a minor thing that I will adress and I find the bolt to be have quite a bit of up and down travel at the end of it rearward travel and to be less then smooth on its forward motion. Now I am no expert and these last 2 things might be absolutely normal.