Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pistol with removable vital part?

Pistol with removable vital part?

Hi,
    I'm new to the sport. I'm interested in learning target shooting with pistols. I got my RPAL but haven't purchased anything yet. My wife is dead set against having a gun in the house; she is convinced it's an irresponsible decision that puts our children (as yet unborn) at risk. I disagree obviously, but let's not get into that here. But I'm looking for a suitable compromise that will allow me to have my fun at the range but will respect her wishes. One solution that came to my mind was perhaps I can own a pistol, but I can partially disassemble it and keep one vital piece of it in my office desk drawer, so it can only be assembled when I am going to practice.

I know some rifles have removable bolts, so I was wondering if there is an analog in the pistol world. Obviously I could leave the magazine or ammo away, but those are pretty easily replaceable, much easier than an integral part of the pistol. I am wondering if there are any pistols that have a small part that is easily removed and kept separate, like a firing pin or striker. If anyone has any recommendations, please let me know.

Please focus on answering my question about hardware - I'm NOT looking for help convincing my wife about the value of gun ownership. That's for another thread, maybe another lifetime.
    Thanks!

CGN frequent flyer
    1. Well it will be in a safe, so if you choose then only you know the combination.
    2. You can also remove the slide from the frame and only lock up the registered part in the safe and the other part in the desk.
    3. I know with my Jericho 941 that you simply press the firing pin in and a plate slides out and the pin and pin spring drop out, but the pin retains the plate through spring pressure so all three little pieces would need to be stored in the desk.