Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gun Cabinet Sufficient to Satisfy RCMP Storing Restricted Firearms Guidelines

Gun Cabinet Sufficient to Satisfy RCMP Storing Restricted Firearms Guidelines

Hi fellow gunnutz,

I'm very new to gun ownership and have recently acquired my first restricted firearm and I wanted to be sure what I have for storage satisfies the regulations before it arrives by mail or I will get something stronger. http://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/stack-on-8-gun-cabinet-0755676p.html#srp

Thanks,

From NCPI

CGN Ultra frequent flyer
    That will do fine. Even just storing the restricted in your transportation case (locked box and trigger lock) is enough.
    Make yourself happy with how you are storing your firearm. Prevent anyone else in your household from be able to get at
    your firearm and you have done enough. Safes are for delaying theft by intruders (or fire damage).

CGN Ultra frequent flyer maple_leaf_eh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NCPI View Post

recently acquired my first restricted firearm and I wanted to be sure what I have for storage satisfies the regulations
    Yes Your Honour I checked with the internet. They said it was OK.

The regulations are broad, and were written that way before the law was passed. Not everyone could predict what kind of lockable container would be available. The theory (and I don't earn my living on legal advice) is that the container must be opaque so the contents are not apparent. Secondly, the walls and doors must be sufficiently strong to resist entry. There hasn't been much case law on how much resistance is enough. Finally, you need to prevent unauthorized access, so drunk Uncle Bob can't find the keys and show his other drunken party friends what kind of guns you've got in there while you are making a beer run at the 2nd Intermission.