Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rifle Bay Ammo Question

CGN Regular

Rifle Bay Ammo Question

Just a question that's had me scratching my head all weekend.

I took my SKS to TSE on Saturday hoping to fire off a few rounds but wasn't sure about ammo rules. The ammo I had was steel core 7.62x39. Not allowed to use steel core as it causes backstop damage, cool, fair enough. Their sandbox, their rules, I'm fine with that.

I saw on the website though that the rifle bay "[allows] shooters to use calibers up to .50 BMG at ranges of up to 50 yards"

--Here's my question--what the heck type of ammo could you use in .50 BMG that would do less damage than a 7.62x39? I know I'm a rookie but the physics just seem to point at a steel core 7.62 doing way less damage than any .50 round I've ever seen. Just looking for education here, not flaming anyone. I still love the pistol bays :D
    Thanks in advance for the education :D

because steel core is just that. a steel core. not lead core. which is what they would expect you to use if you were using a .50. they probably want all bullets to be a lead core so that it will mush on impact not penetrate. even a .50 will mush on impact.

but hey what do i know go try it for yourself and let us know how it goes :D
    if we all used the search function what would we have to talk about-me

maybe a 50 in handgun lol, steel core will go through most backstops like they were butter

CGN Regular
    Ah okay. I still figured that a lead .50 would do more damage than a steel core 7.62 but I have no real world clue. Just curious.

I heard it is a fire issue. Steel core creates sparks.
    Ruger 10/22 w/ bull barrell, tapco stock
    Mossberg Maverick 88 w/ATI fold over
    Russian SKS
    CZ 858-2
    CIL 30-06
    Enfield M1917

CGN Ultra frequent flyer just having some fun's Avatar
    some clubs also have a limit on the speed
    and some on speed and type of jacket ie no full jacket