Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What i can or cant bring across the border

What i can or cant bring across the border

Hey guys Im kinda new to firearms and I was wondering what firearm parts I can or cant bring up from the states into Canada w/o any special licensing. I know receivers are a definite no no, but what about other parts like triggers, sears, bolts, barrels, etc.
    To be more specific, I was looking at a Marlin 336 Rifle Lever. (lever only. No rifle)
    I dont yet have PAL yet.
    Thanks!

Welcome to the board. You'll find that this has been discussed a lot - over and over again to be exact. Practice using the search function since you're new to the board. Search for "US Export". There is also a lengthly sticky on the subject.

Very, very simple. You can bring NOTHING back from the US that is really a firearm part. Not a magazine, not a spring, not a trigger, not a stock, not even a screw (if it is identified as a firearm part).

US ITAR regulations are very clear. The exporter (i.e. you) need an export permit no matter how much or how little your shipment of parts costs. The shipment itself (i.e. the parts themselves) also needs a license. An exporter with a permit (which I presume you are not or you wouldn't have asked the question in the first place) can get an exemption for the shipment's license if the cost of the shipment is less than $100.00 USD but you still need the permit.

Some parts are explicitly not allowed to be exported such as parts for designated military or military type firearms or rifle scopes with 'military technology'.

It hasn't always been this way and yes it sucks but that's current US regulations. None of these restrictions are because of Canadian Law. If you get caught trying to export with out the US paperwork, you're pretty much screwed. Canadian customs don't enforce it but if US officials catch you, you're done.