Thread: Training experience with WGT

Training experience with WGT

Hello all I just wanted to do a review of the training course offered by WGT Consulting my wife and I did just this last weekend.

To start I would like to give a little background, my wife and I have only been shooting for 2 years (never shot a gun before that) and have only been shooting pistols for about a year. We have had no one to teach us anything, we are completely self taught (minus the internet and our safety courses). We had taught ourselves a lot, but felt stalled in our development, hence why when we found WGT we thought that it might be a really good experience.

We had contacted William mid week about the next course that would be available and he gave us the dates, but more than that, he offered to run a course for just the two of us at our convenience. In less than two days he had made all the arrangements, including accommodating our request for a course in just two days, which took place this past weekend. He also had no issues with my wife bringing her own pistol, as well as bringing a variety of pistols for me to try out and discover what I liked.

The classroom portion – It started out with some safety stuff that anyone who already had their RPAL would know, but was a great overview and would be useful to anyone who hadn’t handled a pistol before. He went into the mechanics of the pistol and how things worked beyond the safety course, but not too much to overwhelm you, or make you feel like you’re in an armourers course. He explained the main reasons for failures and went through with us how to evaluate and clear them properly. He also taught us how to properly draw and present our pistols. The emphasis on this was not speed, it was doing it slowly, properly and safely which was great because neither my wife nor I had ever drawn a pistol from a holster.