Thread: Accuracy Tips

Accuracy Tips

I was hoping to get some help regarding accuracy. I know its probably hard to diagnose any problems online but just wanted some advice.

I have a M&P 9 and Savage Mark II. After taking both to the range a few times I find I am completely inaccurate with both.
    I suspect its partially due to inexperience but after shooting a Walter PPQ for the first time and it seeming vastly more accurate I wanted some feedback about Apex modifications and whether it would improve the M&P. My hope was to try ISPC or IDPA with M&P down the line.

The top left corner was shot with PPQ and the other 3 corners were with M&P. All groups are 10 shots at 5 yards.

Thanks.

Last edited by Cyrus2121; 09-07-2017 at 09:01 PM.

CGN Regular
    I'm not an expert or an instructor but I will tell you what helped me. I would always try to manage the recoil too much which took my concentration away from aiming. I would also squeeze my hands before I shot. You can put a dummy round in the gun somewhere in the magazine and you will be able to see if you are tightening up right before the trigger breaks. If this is your problem you should shoot really slow and let the recoil do what it is going to do. Hold the gun as loose as you can without dropping it Focus on the front sight and when the gun goes off let it jump up as high as it wants. Give yourself a second and then bring the gun back down.

I can't guarantee that this will work for you but it helped me a lot and I would at least give it a try. Shooting fast comes quick after you have this down. And when I am having a bad day accuracy wise I still go back to this.

CGN Regular
    Grip, breathing, stance, sight

Not surprised your PPQ group is better, but looking at these 5 yard groups i’d say it’s likely your fundamentals that need work and not the guns. From your M & P groups, i’d Say you likely have a few things going on that need to be corrected.