Thread: Storing bolt action 22 rifle and finding bolt parts

Storing bolt action 22 rifle and finding bolt parts

I'm new to gun ownership and picked up my "new to me" Lakefield MKII bolt action .22LR on Sunday. I was just wondering if I should store it with the bolt open, closed or removed? Safety course just says unloaded and safe and locked (trigger lock, case, cabinet, safe, etc). It is currently locked in a case with a trigger lock in place (until I get something more "permanent" in place), but I'm not sure on the best practice for the bolt position. If it's better closed, do I dry fire it to relieve the firing pin spring tention or leave the bolt cocked? If I remove it, again do I leave it clocked or twist it to un-cock it?

I appreciate any advice everyone can shed on the subject.

Does anyone know where in southern Ontario where I might be able to get extractors for my bolt? I get the odd not fully extracted and ejected casing. The one extractor (left one) looks a little warn. And my bolt doesn't have the external spring clip that others have talked about with this issue with Lakefields/Savage (according to Savage, based on my serial number my rifle is about 30-35 years old - haven't heard back from them yet on possible parts).. Looks like the spring is internal and the extractors are held in place by 2 very small spring pins.

Thanks

Screamin-D

CGN Ultra frequent flyer Magellann's Avatar
    I store mine bolt closed, just to keep them from sliding back and forth. I wouldn't recommend storing the bolts separate, as so many fellows have lost the bolts over time.

BANNED
    You can remove the bolt and keep it in the case if your not into having to dry fire it..keep the bolt clean in a oily rag would be my preference

Can't help you with your extractor problem - just keep looking - somebody should have what you're looking for.