Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Service Rifle SR CQB with BOLT Guns

Business Member

Service Rifle SR CQB with BOLT Guns

All I can sarcastically say is, “Marty; We’re going BACK to the Future!”

With all this talk about AR’s, OIC, Covid, I wanted to positively entertain a discussion about bolt gun use in Service Rifle (SR) and CQB Courses of Fire (CoF)

I see an opportunity when others choose to see a problem.... good, bad, or indifferent. Only time will tell when the lawyers have to go through the entire process. In the meantime, we Match Directors have a responsibility to keep the Matches and Training rolling for newbies, beginners, soldiers, Shooting Teams, Brigade Teams, and other Marksmanship enthusiasts. Even if we have to use bolt guns.

Been there, and done that! I’ve been competing in SR events since 1986 (both American and Canadian rule sets).

I’ve employed both Winchester Model 70 (push feed Coyote .223 w/9” twist barrel, ( with these 68 gr, 69 gr, 75 gr Amax booolits). It was a medium profiled barrel. We used (my 13 year old son) to stuff 7 rounds inside the internal box magazine on the commands: Load ! Ready! During the rapids my son and I were able to get all 7 rounds off and maybe that single 8th loosely shoved on the magazine follower and bolt hammered home.

I’ve competed with a Remmy 700 P with 24” barrel and the 3 round factory DM. On the command load and Ready, I would chamber a round, engage the safety, then insert a factory 3 round magazine. Oh BTW, this was back in 1992/93. My Colt HBar stayed at home and so did my M1A Sporter. Okay, on the reloads for the rapid, I would run my rifle dry, toss one round and close the bolt, then slap in that second 3 round factory magazine. Keith C of Milcun Marksmanship Complex was the RSO and we shared some lively discussions after the matches.