Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What do i need to get setup, complete beginner waiting for his PAL

What do i need to get setup, complete beginner waiting for his PAL

Hi folks,

Im new to the sport and just wondering since i sent my PAL on dec 16th, i got a while to wait. i havent found a thread yet, but what would one need to get setup for success for learning, proper care/cleaning, storage, were and what to buy (id like to support local).

Asking for suggestions to answer things like, do i really need a 'best' gun vice? or can i be okay with regular tipton gun vice? a mat? a multi cleaning kit? do i use CLP or solvent? Which ones do i get?

Should i contact and visit some of the local ranges to see what they offer? Im in the lower mainland BC and hearing lots of waitlists happening right now. I havent seen any much of updated info for crownland spots.

I inherited a 18gun safe for storage. So im covered there.

Any books i should get to learn? how to mount a scope? how to dial it in with the rifle?

I havent looked much into hunting, but work with alot of them, ive been invited out so im curious what the process is to obtain a hunting license but also the process IF i do say get a deer, whats the next step?

If it helps, of course i want a SKS lol

Youtube has been great for learning how to clean and reviews. Just wondering if anyone has a rough idea what has helped them get started (:

CGN Ultra frequent flyer Far North's Avatar
    Get yourself a .22, eye and ear protection, and a cheap cleaning kit. Go out and practice.
    CSSA CCFR
    Canadian gun laws brought to you by government sponsored ignorance and fear mongering

Shot about 10,000 rounds of .22 and then decide what you want.

Putting your first 2000 rounds in on an sks is a waste of.money.
    Under no pretext should arms and ammunition be surrendered; any attempt to disarm the workers must be frustrated, by force if necessary- Angry Santa

CGN Regular