Thread: Newer than Newbie

Newer than Newbie

Hi All,

Happy to join this community.

My short-winded question is, where do I start with firearms?

My PAL is en-route and I expect it at any time.

I am new to the firearm scene, and have never owned a firearm, so I do not know where to start.

I am interested in long-range shooting and eventually getting into it competitively.

Do I start with joining a club, or taking a class, attending a few competitions?

Should I join any associations NFA, or the ORA?

Any recommendation is much appreciated.

Cheers,
    C

Hello and Welcome! Great to hear you took an interest. Im surprised nobody has commented to this post yet, but maybe it got missed by many.

Short answer? - all of the above!

Joining a club is a great start. Depending on the club, they might offer classes, or information sessions for newbies. Don't be afraid to ask questions and meet people. I've found its a spectacular community. Also, start reading and don't stop reading. Learn as much as you can. Go to the book store and buy a few books about firearms. See which models you like and strive towards your first purchase.

CGN is a spectacular resource. Read all the newbies sections and FAQ's. There are some long time members that know more about firearms than most know about anything.
    Oh, you better believe that's a paddlin'.

Personally, not being comfortable being a newbie in front of others. (But that’s just my own self concious mind)
    I bought a cheapish 22 cal to start, bought snap caps so I could practice the motions at home without damaging anything. Then went out doing some target practice myself on crown land.

And after a bunch of research I felt a little more comfortable asking questions.