Thread: Any Gun Maintenance Threads Out There?

Question Any Gun Maintenance Threads Out There?

Bought my first Tikka t1x the other day ($608, which is nuts).

As a newbie, there is a lot of misinformation out there regarding gun cleaning and maintenance.

Hickok 45 uses a cotton rag and mineral oil to stop his metals from pitting, while using solvents to clean his bore, others claim a specific gun oil is needed like linseed or synthetics like silicone, and just a bore brush alone is fine.

Last thing on earth I want is this T1x not lasting, giving it to my future generations would be a dream.

Any pros willing to share their gun care routines, or point me to a thread that has?

What do you do after a day at the range for maintenance?

Thanks a lot CGN’erz

Anecdotal response for you - I'm not a pro, and this isn't T1X specific. I had similar questions recently and read around a fair bit. Thoughts were varied but seemed to fit mostly into these 3 mindsets:

a) Paramilitary mindset. Clean after each use / even a single round / regardless.
    b) Lean mindset. Clean only if necessary / before it's an issue / before use if obvious.
    c) Maintenance mindset. Clean on a cycle (e.g. rounds fired, calendar months, if obviously needs it).

My opinion on each: "a" can be zen like, near essential for a defensive firearm, but may risk wearing or damaging firearms prematurely. "b" seems to be the answer from everyone I physically talk with / mostly old timers. "c" is like "b with a plan", encourages more shooting than "a", and resembles how we treat other tools (e.g. trucks). I now adopt "c" because it encourages logging, which has helped me advance other aspects of my firearms skills.

As for tools, oils and techniques, understanding that is important regardless of mindset. There can be lots to it and often is specific to each firearm and storage. I hope you get more responses that give alternative and more experienced views.