Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rifle build caliber for deer in Quebec

Rifle build caliber for deer in Quebec

Hi guys,

I just joined the forums and have recently acquired a nice little .22 for plinking with mates. Ultimately I want to hunt deer this fall and I'd like to build a rifle for that and general sport shooting. I've been a machinist for 14 years and I have a fully equiped home shop (Lagun FTV 40 taper mill, Voest 13" x 60" lathe, TIG etc). I would have liked something in 5.56/.223 but I read that the minimum caliber here in Quebec is .243. I'd like to hunt on the ground in the bush as opposed to a tree stand or blind so thinking something relatively compact like a Ruger Ranch would be the go. Another factor is that I'm left eye dominant and right handed so a red dot might fit the bill here. There's also this semi-auto thing that makes me want to build a WK 180 or similar. Allll that to say, is there anything else other than the rifles mentioned that I should be looking out for on the used market? At this stage my plan would be to rebarrel the chosen 5.56/.223 rifle in 300 BLK.

Cheers,

CGN Ultra frequent flyer buzzmagoo's Avatar
    Bolt action well I would maybe start with a military surplus rifles .Depending on caliber they are cheaper to shoot . There are plenty to choose from all are good for deer .
    Never ride faster than your Angel can fly !

CGN Ultra frequent flyer BattleRife's Avatar
    Big question, how open are you to calibers that may be hard to find? Either equipping yourself to reload, or be willing to order in a case of ammo to supply yourself for years?

If you insist that you be able to walk into Canadian Tire to pick up a box of ammo on short notice, that cuts you to just a few calibers.
    --BattleRife