Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Private Sale for Restricted Firearm Question/Help!

Private Sale for Restricted Firearm Question/Help!

Hello,

I just upgraded to an RPAL and I'm not sure about the process that I need to go through to purchase a restricted firearm from another person.

First, I need a range membership, and fax in a LTATT form to my CFO? What else do I need to do?

Does the seller phone CFC and initiate the transfer which I complete as per the pre-LGR unrestricted transfers?

And then, how will I get an short term ATT? Does this allow me to pickup the gun from the seller and drive it home?

Perhaps if somebody could break this down for me as I'm a total newb with this.

Thanks in advance.

Yes you will need a range membership. scan both side of your PAL, send to seller. Seller will start transfer and give your a reference number. Then you call and give them reference number and answer some questions and ask for a short term att to bring it home, unless its being mailed to you. a long term ATT has nothing to do with a private sale. most ranges will take care of the LTATT for you. Hope that helps you.
    You can never have enough Mag's

Last edited by rattler280; 01-20-2013 at 12:53 PM.

Great thanks for clearing that up. I'm in BC so no range membership is required, unless I need to apply for a LTATT correct?

They seller will initiate the transfer by calling the CFO, they'll need your PAL#. After they initiate they'll be given a reference#. Get the reference# from them and call the CFO. Follow the phone prompts to complete the transfer. A person will ask you a couple of questions, birth date, place of birth, address of where the firearm will be stored. Once the approval is complete, they'll contact the seller so that he or she may ship, or you can pick up. They will also mail you your new registration for said firearm. You'll need... At least in AB a STATT to transport the firearm from the post office or address where you are picking it up from.